Don’t mess with nature

You really have to admire nature–every aspect of it. I’m hard-pressed to find anything that I don’t admire. I hear people say ‘the desert is ugly,’ ‘insects are ugly,’…there’s a judgment for everything. Personally, I don’t see ugliness in nature. I love the mountains and lakes and oceans and deserts and storms and animals and rodents and insects and…Okay, so wait a minute. I wouldn’t say that everything is beautiful. Flies aren’t pretty. Mosquitos? No. Of course, that could be because they annoy me to no end. Nah. They’re just not pretty. How about this…everything in nature amazes me. So I started a nature album. I thought I’d start with benign things, like flowers and leaves. Although, I did stick a spider in there. So if you’re squeamish or phobic be warned. But if you do look, I think you’ll have to agree that it’s a beautiful spider. These are common all over Okinawa and can get as big as my hand. Their homes are multiplexes.

The insects in Mexico are pretty incredible, too. Even Black Widows are beautiful, and I felt terrible when I had to kill one (and five of its babies) when it got into my home. But it was kill or be killed and that’s the sad truth. (Sorry, I didn’t take the time to find my camera and snap a photo first.) I’ll get off my bug-o-logue now because really, my nature album isn’t full of things that creep you out, and if I add something that might I’ll give you a heads-up in a post.

About Passages 23

Passages 23 is a photography partnership between Cindy A. Carl (color photography) and David L. White (black and white photography). The name stems from the life changes we all go through; passages/journeys from one phase to the next. We think our photographs reflect changes in nature, as well, and provide glimpses of the past and of what was. About Cindy: I’m a writer by day and a writer by night, and I squeeze my photography into the in-betweens. I’m originally from Easthampton, MA (USA). My stuff lives in storage (I keep thinking I’ll settle down), while I’ve restlessly lived and traveled throughout North America, Europe, and Asia. My writing reflects the philosophical and psychological quirks of the human experience. If you like humorous stories that screw with your mind–in a pleasant way, of course–then please check out my latest novel, Quest for a Dream. My photography focuses on lines and unusual perspectives. I’m an avid animal lover, and live with my two wonderful cats, Isan and Lucy, and yes, they travel with me. Oh, and, I’m the wordy one. About David: I’m just an old fart with a camera. View all posts by Passages 23

2 responses to “Don’t mess with nature

Leave a Reply

